You are here
Home > FAI News > Shamrock Rovers Graham Burke named in Ireland provisional squad for upcoming friendlies

Shamrock Rovers Graham Burke named in Ireland provisional squad for upcoming friendlies


Republic of Ireland manager Martin O’Neill has announced a provisional squad for the friendly games against Celtic (May 20), France (May 28) and United States (June 2).

Speaking at the SPAR Primary 5s Leinster Finals in Navan, O’Neill revealed that veteran defender John O’Shea would be leading Ireland out for the final time at the Three International Friendly against United States on Saturday, June 2 in Aviva Stadium.

The three friendly games act as the final preparation ahead of the UEFA Nations League opener away to Wales on September 6. O’Neill has made space in his squad for three players (Matt Doherty, Declan Rice & Scott Hogan) who made their debuts in the recent friendly against Turkey.

Graham Burke is the latest player from the SSE Airtricity League to be called up to the squad, following on from the previous call ups for the Dundalk trio of Andy Boyle, Daryl Horgan and Gary Rogers.

Also receiving their first senior call-ups are Peterborough United goalkeeper Conor O’Malley, Millwall midfielder Shaun Williams, and Preston North End forward Callum Robinson.

A number of players miss out due to injury, including Robbie Brady (knee), James McCarthy (broken leg), Jonny Hayes (ankle) and Aiden McGeady (ankle). Burnley forward Jonathan Walters returns after a long injury lay-off.

Some players will drop out of the squad after the Celtic game on Sunday, May 20 in Celtic Park, while others will only report into camp ahead of the trip to Paris to take on France on Monday, May 28 in Stade de France and the home game against the United States on June 2.

Republic of Ireland Men’s National Team – Provisional Squad

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), Colin Doyle (Bradford City), Kieran O’Hara (Manchester United), Ian Lawlor (Doncaster Rovers), Conor O’Malley (Peterborough United)

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Cyrus Christie (Fulham), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Alex Pearce, Richard Keogh (Derby County), John Egan (Brentford), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), Declan Rice (West Ham United), Kevin Long (Burnley), John O’Shea (Sunderland), Darragh Lenihan, Derrick Williams (Blackburn Rovers), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Greg Cunningham (Preston North End)

Midfielders: Alan Judge (Brentford), Conor Hourihane, Glenn Whelan (Aston Villa), Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), Eunan O’Kane (Leeds United), David Meyler (Hull City), Shaun Williams (Millwall), Alan Browne, Daryl Horgan (Preston North End), Callum O’Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (West Bromwich Albion)
Forwards: Jonathan Walters (Burnley), Shane Long (Southampton), Scott Hogan (Aston Villa), Aiden O’Brien (Millwall), Sean Maguire, Callum Robinson (Preston North End), Graham Burke (Shamrock Rovers)

Similar Articles

3 thoughts on “Shamrock Rovers Graham Burke named in Ireland provisional squad for upcoming friendlies

  1. Although not a full international, a run-out for Burke in the Celtic game would be a massive step in the right direction for the LOI

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.