You are here
Home > Derry City > Ronan Curtis makes the Ireland u21 squad for Norway friendly

Ronan Curtis makes the Ireland u21 squad for Norway friendly

Republic of Ireland Under 21 Head Coach Noel King has selected an 18-man squad ahead of the upcoming qualifier against Norway. 

The squad will meet up on Saturday ahead of the 2019 UEFA European Under-21 Championships qualifying match against the Norwegians in Marienlyst Stadion, Drammen, with kick-off at 7pm (6pm local time).

King has gone for a largely-unchanged squad with his side currently top of Group 5 on 10 points having claimed three wins out of their opening four matches. Liverpool goalkeeper Caoimhin Kelleher comes in for Nottingham Forest’s Liam Bossin in the only change with Bossin sidelined through injury.

Fourth-placed Norway held Ireland to a 0-0 draw at Tallaght Stadium in October and will need to win on Tuesday to keep any qualification hopes alive whilst Ireland will be looking to continue their unbeaten start to the campaign.

King said: “The squad is really looking forward to meeting up later in the week and starting our preparations for the trip to Norway.

“As the Norwegians proved in the game in October, they are a very good team who will provide us with a difficult test. The players have started the campaign brilliantly and to be in the position at the top of the table after four games is fantastic and a credit to them.

“Norway will be boosted by their 3-1 victory against Germany and nobody is in doubt about the enormity of the challenge we face but given the levels these lads have reached, nothing would surprise me from them.”

Republic of Ireland Under 21 Squad

Goalkeepers: Kieran O’Hara (Manchester United), Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool)
Defenders: Danny Kane (Huddersfield Town), Ryan Sweeney (Stoke City, on loan at Bristol Rovers), Shaun Donnellan (West Bromwich Albion, on loan at Walsall), Corey Whelan (Liverpool), Ryan Delaney (Burton Albion)
Midfielders: Josh Cullen (West Ham, on loan at Bolton Wanderers), Harry Charsley (Everton), Conor Shaugnessey (Leeds United), Liam Kinsella (Walsall), Declan Rice (West Ham United), Jake Mulraney (Inverness Caledonian Thistle), Connor Ronan (Wolverhampton Wanderers)
Attackers: Reece Grego-Cox (QPR), Ryan Manning (QPR), Ronan Curtis (Derry City), Joe Quigley (Bournemouth, on loan at Newport County)

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.