You are here
Home > FAI News > Trevor Clarke & Rory Hale called up to the Ireland u21 squad

Trevor Clarke & Rory Hale called up to the Ireland u21 squad

Ireland are currently top of Group Five after claiming maximum points from their first two matches with a 1-0 win over Kosovo and a 3-1 win in Azerbaijan.

Noel King’s side face Norway on Thursday, October 5th with kick-off at 7.45pm followed by Israel on Monday, October 9th with kick-off at 3.30pm; both games at Tallaght Stadium, Dublin.

King has stuck with the same squad from the win over Azerbaijan but has been able to add a number of players to the squad, Aston Villa’s Jake Doyle Hayes and Brighton and Hove Albion midfielder Dessie Hutchinson.

There are also call-ups for SSE Airtricity League duo Trevor Clarke and Rory Hale, from Shamrock Rovers and Galway United respectively, whilst QPR winger Olamide Shodipo and Chesterfield midfielder Connor Dimaio return from injury.

Republic of Ireland U21 manager Noel King said: “We’re really looking forward to next week. We go into the games top of the group and the squad have shown real promise in our first two matches.

“The challenge now is to keep those standards high and keep improving through what will be two difficult games. Both Norway and Israel have qualified for the European Championships in recent years so we need to be at our very best to get the positive results we require.

“As is the norm, we must now wait by the phone until the weekend is over and keep our fingers crossed everyone comes through from their games unscathed. I know the players are looking forward to the challenge ahead of them and hopefully with a good crowd at Tallaght Stadium as we look to get three wins in a row.”

Republic of Ireland U21 squad to face Norway and Israel

Goalkeepers: Kieran O’Hara (Manchester United), Liam Bossin (Nottingham Forest).

Defenders: Danny Kane (Huddersfield), Ryan Sweeney (Stoke City, on loan at Bristol Rovers), Shaun Donnellan (West Bromwich Albion, on loan at Walsall), Declan Rice (West Ham United), Corey Whelan (Liverpool), Ryan Delaney (Burton Albion, on loan at Cork City), Trevor Clarke (Shamrock Rovers)

Midfielders: Josh Cullen (West Ham, on loan at Bolton Wanderers), Harry Charsley (Everton), Conor Shaughnessy (Leeds United), Liam Kinsella (Walsall), Jake Mulraney (Inverness Caledonian Thistle), Connor Ronan (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Olamide Shodipo (QPR), Connor Dimaio (Chesterfield), Rory Hale (Galway United), Jake Doyle Hayes (Aston Villa), Dessie Hutchinson (Brighton and Hove Albion).

Attackers: Reece Grego Cox (QPR), Ryan Manning (QPR), Ronan Curtis (Derry City), Joe Quigley (Bournemouth, on loan at Newport County).

Tickets for the two games will be available on the day of the game priced at €10 for adults and €5 for children/students/OAPs. Entry is free for FAI season ticket holders, Shamrock Rovers season ticket holders and IT Tallaght students.

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.