You are here
Home > FAI News > O’Neill announces Scott Hogan, Sean Maguire and Aiden O’Brien in provisional squad

O’Neill announces Scott Hogan, Sean Maguire and Aiden O’Brien in provisional squad

Republic of Ireland manager Martin O’Neill unveiled the provisional squad that he has chosen for the final two Group D games as part of qualifying for the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

At a press conference in Aviva’s Dublin headquarters, O’Neill announced a 32-man provisional roster for the games at home to Moldova in Aviva Stadium on Friday, October 6 and away to Wales in Cardiff on Monday, October 9.

Included in the squad for the first time are Aston Villa’s Scott Hogan, who qualifies through his Carlow-born grandmother and Wexford-born grandfather, and Millwall’s Aiden O’Brien, who is a former underage international.

Midfielder Jeff Hendrick and forward David McGoldrick both return after missing the games against Georgia and Serbia. However, injury rules out Greg Cunningham (knee) and Jonathan Walters (knee).

While both Robbie Brady and James McClean are suspended for the Moldova game, they are expected to link up with the squad when the players report into camp on Monday, October 2.

Tickets for the clash with Moldova at Aviva Stadium on Friday, October 6 are still available via

Republic of Ireland MNT Provisional Squad

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), Rob Elliot (Newcastle United), Colin Doyle (Bradford City)

Defenders: Cyrus Christie (Middlesbrough), Richard Keogh (Derby County), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), John O’Shea (Sunderland), Kevin Long, Stephen Ward (Burnley)

Midfielders: Aiden McGeady (Sunderland), James McClean (West Bromwich Albion), Glenn Whelan, Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Jeff Hendrick, Robbie Brady (Burnley), James McCarthy (Everton), David Meyler (Hull City), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), Eunan O’Kane (Leeds United), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich City), Jonathan Hayes (Celtic), Callum O’Dowda (Bristol City), Daryl Horgan (Preston North End)

Forwards: Shane Long (Southampton), Daryl Murphy (Nottingham Forest), David McGoldrick (Ipswich Town), Kevin Doyle (Colorado Rapids), Sean Maguire (Preston North End), Scott Hogan (Aston Villa), Aiden O’Brien (Millwall)

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.