You are here
Home > First Division > Limerick FC clinch the First Division title in style

Limerick FC clinch the First Division title in style

Congratulations to Martin Russell and his side for winning the First Division title today after defeating UCD at Belfield today.

The only points in the whole season that the Munster men dropped was two draws with Drogheda United and so wrap up the league with 6 games to go.

It was a tremendous run and the season could be topped off if they beat St Patrick’s Athletic in the EA Sports Cup Final in Markets Field on September 17th which would guarantee European action for next season.

As the only full time outfit in the first division it was widely expected that Limerick would go straight back up and the managers and players delivered on expectations.

It was 296 days since Limerick’s agonising defeat in Finn Park that put them into the First Division so that’s one hell of a quick return.

The goals were the big difference between Limerick and the rest as these number of League goals (currently) tell you.

John O’Flynn 12

Aaron Greene 10

Chris Mulhall 9

Paul O’Conor 9


Similar Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.